FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

 

The uncertainty caused by the current situation raises several questions. We have prepared a list of the most frequently asked questions.

 

IMPORTANT WARNING

All of the information in this FAQ is subject to update or change as the situation evolves. Therefore, we invite you to consult this section regularly. The information presented here is of a general nature and is made available to you without any guarantee, particularly as regards its accuracy or obsolescence. This information should not be construed as constituting legal advice.

Are bailiff services considered as priority activities by the Quebec government?

The Quebec government identified bailiffs in the list of priority activities that could continue their operations.  Information on this subject can be found on the List of essential services and commercial activities.

Last update: May 11th, 2020

Given the current crisis, how can a bailiff serve pleadings?

Québec’s Ministère de la Justice now authorizes bailiffs to serve pleadings by technological means (such as email, by example), rather than being personally served as is normally expected.

This temporary measure will be in effect until the end of the current health emergency period. 

In order to participate in the collective effort to minimize the spread of Covid-19, we privilege service by technological means. If there is an obstacle to this type of service, our bailiffs will proceed to serve documents to the recipient traditionnally.

For all the details, we refer you to Order 4267 of the Chief Justice of Québec and the Minister of Justice dated 27 March 2020 and to the Press Release regarding Temporary Measures Authorizing Notaries to Close Acts Remotely and Bailiffs to Serve Pleadings by Technological Means.  

Last update: May 26th, 2020

What measures has Paquette taken to minimize the risk of spreading COVID-19?

The health and safety of our customers, our team and the people with whom we are called to come into contact are at the heart of our concerns. Beyond the carrying out of the new method of service by technological means and the use of the Digital Court Office of Québec when appropriate, we ensure that our bailiffs and team members are made aware of the health and safety measures implemented by the organization in order to minimize the risks associated to COVID-19 and provide them with the necessary equipment to allow the application of the standards in force during in-person services.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

Why call upon Paquette when having procedures issued?

The Quebec justice system is embarking on a major technological shift and we are excited to be a part of it. The innovation brought forth by the Digital Court Office of Québec is aligned with our vision of using digital technology to enrich our service offer.

Trust our expertise

For several months, daily practice has seen changes at unprecedented speed. At Paquette, we closely monitor the evolution of the methods of operation of the court offices of the various Courts and tribunals of Quebec. We make sure we have up-to-date knowledge that allows us to offer you a fast, efficient and inexpensive court services. Prepare your procedure and let us take care of the rest!

And enjoy an end-to-end service!

Once your procedure has been created and your instructions have been sent to Paquette, you can move onto other matters and free yourself from the tasks related to the issuance and production of the procedure. By calling upon our team, you benefit from an end-to-end service which will allow you, from a single request, to have:

  • your procedure issued or filed at the digital or physical court office, as best fits the situation;
  • your procedure stamped with a cash advance;
  • your procedure served to the designated persons and
  • your service reports filed with the Court.

Do you want to follow the progress regarding the treatment of your request? Use the Paquette Web platform which will allow you not only to communicate your requests, but also to follow the progress of your file and consult your reports.Do you want to follow the progress regarding the treatment of your request? Use the Paquette Web platform which will allow you not only to communicate your requests, but also to follow the progress of your file and view your reports.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

What documents can bailiffs serve by technological means?

Any document whether it is considered urgent or not.

Last update: April 7th, 2020

Regarding service by technological means, at which email address can a document be served?

We will serve the document at the email address provided to us by our client.

We refer you to the first paragraph of section 133 of the Code of Civil Procedure which provides that: “Notification by a technological means is made by sending the document to the address provided by the addressee for the receipt of the document, or to the address that is publicly known as the address where the addressee receives documents, provided the address is active at the time of sending.

Last update: April 7th, 2020

Can a self-representing litigant be served by technological means?

Yes. Order No. 4267 provides that “a party not represented by a lawyer or a notary may not unreasonably refuse to receive a document by a technological means”.

Last update: April 7th, 2020

How can we mandate you to serve a document by technological means?

Paquette Web allows you to securely send us PDF documents to be served. 

We now allow urgent mandate requests using this platform during work hours.  If you need to make an urgent request outside of office hours, please call our emercengy service at 514-284-1007.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

How should we proceed to send you a request for a traditional mandate?

As of May 26th, we invite you to contact through our regular methods, as follows:

  • Use the Paquette Web platform, which allows you to make a request, attach documents in PDF format (30MB max per file) as needed and view your reports and invoices in one place. It is simple and efficient. Do not have an account yet? Create one quickly.

  • Communicate with us by using the contact details of your customer service officer.  Considering that we are still in the gradual reinstating of our services, you might be forwarded to another customer service officer, but be assured that we will continue to provide you with a direct line of communication regarding your requests.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

What are the fees to have documents served by technological means?

We charge a 23$ fee per service as provided for in the Tariff of fees of court bailiffs.  Management fees of 8$ per file are also applicable.

Last update: April 7th, 2020

When will proof of service by technological means be sent to me?

You will receive a report of service by technological means within a reasonable time following service by technological means. These minutes will comply with sections 119 and 134 paragraph 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

Last update: April 7th, 2020

Is it possible to file an originating application with the court office?

As of June 15th, 2020, it is now possible to “send court offices certain pleadings and their accompanying documents (forms, proof of notification, etc.) for civil, youth, criminal and penal matters online” at the office of the Superior Court and the Court of Quebec. As a member of the Quebec legal community, we are enthusiastic about participating in this technological shift.

However, this method is not compulsory and cannot be used for certain documents and to file in certain courts and administrative tribunals.

Furthermore, following requests made through the Digital Court Office during the first week of its availability, we have observed that, for the moment, the time taken to issue a procedure seems to be around 48 hours. For this reason, we recommend filing it at the physical registry, in cases where there is an emergency.

We therefore continue to move to the registries and invite you to continue to send us your procedures through our secure platform Paquette Web.

By calling upon us with our secure Paquette Web platform, you benefit from an end-to-end service which will allow you, from a single request, to have:

  • your procedure issued or filed at the digital or physical court office, as best fits the situation;
  • your procedure stamped with a cash advance;
  • your procedure served to the designated persons and
  • your service reports filed with the Court.

For filing and issuing procedures at the physical court offices, the situation is evolving day by day and varies from one judicial district to the next.

We are monitoring the situation closely and will advise you if there should be a specific problem concerning the issue of a procedure that you have transmitted to us. If you have any questions, contact us using the contact information for your customer service officer.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

What are the delays when issuing a procedure with the Digital Court Office of Québec?

The Digital Court Office of Québec was launched on June 15, 2020. As of June 18, we cannot provide you with an official response regarding this question.

However, when filing procedures in the first few days of activity, we observed that the processing time seemed to be around 48 hours. For this reason, we recommend to our clients that we continue filing with the court offices in the courthouse, in urgent matters and in cases which are excluded from filing digitally according to the conditions of use (e.g. “an application for judicial authorization” or “an application for authorization to institute a class action).

Last update: June 18th, 2020

Can non-urgent procedures be filed with the court offices?

As of June 15th, 2020, it is now possible to “send court offices certain pleadings and their accompanying documents (forms, proof of notification, etc.) for civil, youth, criminal and penal matters online” at the office of the Superior Court and the Court of Quebec. As a member of the Quebec legal community, we are enthusiastic about participating in this technological shift.

However, this method is not compulsory and cannot be used for certain documents and to file in certain courts and administrative tribunals.  We therefore continue to go to the court offices.

By calling upon us with our secure Paquette Web platform, you benefit from an end-to-end service which will allow you, from a single request, to have:

  • your procedure issued or filed at the digital or physical court office, as best fits the situation;
  • your procedure stamped with a cash advance;
  • your procedure served to the designated persons and
  • your service reports filed with the Court.

For filing and issuing procedures at the physical court offices, the situation is evolving day by day and varies from one judicial district to the next.

We are monitoring the situation closely and will advise you if there should be a specific problem concerning the issue of a procedure that you have transmitted to us. If you have any questions, contact us using the contact information for your customer service officer.

Last update: June 18th, 2020

Last update: June 1st, 2020

What procedures are defined as being urgent by the various authorities?

Urgent judicial activities are mentioned here.

We also refer you to the various press releases issued by the courts considering that the concept of urgency may vary from one court to another as well as from one district to the next.

For example, the Superior Court (district of Montreal) issued a press release on June 26th in which it replaced the list of urgent and priority matters in civil and family matters with the following [Translation]:

  • Injuction request
  • Seizure before judgment
  • Seizure release order, seizure before judgment annulment or contestation of eviction
  • Issue execution notices (eviction) following a court decision, excluding the effect of any judgment suspended by ministerial decree number 2020-005 concerning housing and residential buildings
  • Safeguard order
  • Any request considered urgent or a priority by the Commercial Chamber in matters which are heard before it, whether as part of a reorganization, an arrangement, a proposal, a bankruptcy or otherwise
  • Request for child care and food and other requests concerning children
  • Request for alimony for spouses
  • Request for divorce and legal separation including requests concerning custody, access rights, alimony and other questions concerning the parties or their property
  • Request for authorization to care (s. 16 C.C.Q.)
  • Habeas Corpus
  • Request regarding rights or the integrity of the person (eg: s. 2167.1 C.C.Q.)
  • Priority request under the law
  • Any other matter deemed urgent or a priority by the chief judge or the judge designated by him requiring the immediate intervention of the court in order to ensure the protection of persons, rights and property.

Last update: June 29th, 2020

What about prescription and civil procedure periods?

Order 2020-4251 of the Chief Justice of Québec and the Minister of Justice dated 15 March 2020 provides that “extinctive prescription and terms for forfeiture in civil matters are suspended until the expiry of the period of the declaration of public health emergency […]. Similarly, procedural periods in civil matters are suspended during the same period, with the exception of cases deemed urgent by the courts.”  

To learn more about renewals of the public health emergency, you can refer to the section Measures adopted by Orders in Council and Ministerial Orders of the government page dedicated to the Situation of the coronavirus (COVID-19) in Québec

According to a July 13th press release, “[t]he Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Quebec, Mr. Simon Jolin-Barrette, and the Chief Justice of Quebec, Ms. Manon Savard, announce the lifting of the suspension of procedural periods in civil and criminal matters next September 1st.  Furthermore, in civil matters, the deadlines for readiness linked to a case protocol in effect on March 15th 2020 will be extended by 45 days starting September 1st. [Translation]”

As regards the Régie du logement, it is important to note that according to their website consulted on May 11ththe time limits for bringing a recourse before the Régie du logement are not suspended, in particular with regard to repossession of a dwelling, application for revocation and application for a review.”

Regarding procedural periods in civil matters, it should be noted that at the registry offices of the Montreal courthouse, an information note* is posted. It includes a table regarding types of suspensions originating from Order 2020-4251:

  • Types of suspended procedural periods in civil matters:
    • “Deadline for civil proceedings, except in cases deemed urgent by the court [Translation]”
    • “Deadline which relates to judicial independence when it concerns a period of civil procedure [Translation]” (example: Means of inadmissibility and correction of the situation – s. 168)
  •  Types of periods or delays, which are not suspended:
    • “Prevenient or presentation periods [Translation]”
    • “Imposition of an obligation rather than a procedural period [Translation]” (example: Notification of a judgment)
    • “Is not a procedural deadline or represents a duration [Translation]” (example: Duration of the provisional injunction)

*Justice Québec, Direction du soutien juridique aux services de justice, Note d’information : Suspension des délais de procédure civile, en date du 26 mai 2020, consulted at the court offices of the Montreal courthouse on June 10th 2020.

Last update: July 13th, 2020

When will we be able to have an eviction order executed?

In accordance with the Ministerial Order 2020-050 by the Minister of Health and Social Services dated 7 July  2020,we can now plan evictions relating to any judgment or decision of the Régie du logement rendered before March 1, 2020. 

For decisions or judgments rendered since March 1, 2020, “[t]he effects of any judgment by a tribunal or any decision by the Régie du logement authorizing the repossession of a dwelling or the eviction of the lessee of a dwelling are suspended, as are the effects of any judgment or any decision ordering the eviction of the lessee or occupant of a dwelling, unless the lessor rented the dwelling again before the coming into effect of this Ministerial Order and the suspension would prevent the new lessee from taking possession of the premises. Despite the foregoing, the tribunal or the Régie du logement may, when exceptional circumstances justify doing so, order the enforcement of one of its judgments or one of its decisions, as the case may be, in accordance with Order 2020-005 of March 17, 2020.

We therefore invite you to communicate with us, as soon as possible, if you wish to plan the execution of a Regie du logement decision in your favor.

Last update: July 7th, 2020

At current time, is it possible to proceed to a seizure before judgment or to execute a judgment?

We can accept execution mandates, while respecting the time limits when applicable. Give us instructions for execution and we will evaluate the most suitable method in order to comply with the currently applicable hygiene standards and the various directives, guidelines and restrictions in force.

As regards decisions rendered by the Régie du logement, in accordance with the Ministerial Order 2020-050 by the Minister of Health and Social Services dated 7 July  2020, we can now plan evictions relating to any judgment or decision of the Régie du logement rendered before March 1, 2020. 

For decisions or judgments rendered since March 1, 2020, “[t]he effects of any judgment by a tribunal or any decision by the Régie du logement authorizing the repossession of a dwelling or the eviction of the lessee of a dwelling are suspended, as are the effects of any judgment or any decision ordering the eviction of the lessee or occupant of a dwelling, unless the lessor rented the dwelling again before the coming into effect of this Ministerial Order and the suspension would prevent the new lessee from taking possession of the premises. Despite the foregoing, the tribunal or the Régie du logement may, when exceptional circumstances justify doing so, order the enforcement of one of its judgments or one of its decisions, as the case may be“, in accordance with Order 2020-005 of March 17, 2020.

Please note that it is possible that we might be unable to proceed to an execution if it does not respect the rules, regulations and standards in force.

Last update: July 7th, 2020

For any further questions, we invite you communicate with us using the contact details of your customer representative.  You are not a current client?  Contact us by e-mail or, during our business hours, by phone at 514-284-1007 #0.

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS (FAQ)

 

L’incertitude causée par la situation actuelle soulève plusieurs questions. Nous avons préparé une liste des questions les plus fréquemment posées.

 

AVERTISSEMENT IMPORTANT

Toute l’information contenue dans cette FAQ est appelée à être mise à jour ou modifiée selon l’évolution de la situation. Ainsi, nous vous invitons à consulter cette section régulièrement. L’information présentée ici est de nature générale et est mise à votre disposition sans garantie aucune notamment au niveau de son exactitude ou de sa caducité. Cette information ne doit pas être interprétée comme constituant des conseils juridiques.

Les services de huissiers sont-ils considérés des activités prioritaires par le gouvernement?

Le gouvernement du Québec a identifié les huissiers dans la liste des activités prioritaires qui pouvaient continuer leurs opérations pendant la période de réduction au minimum des services et activités non prioritaires.

Dernière mise à jour : 11 mai 2020

Étant donné la crise actuelle, quelles sont les méthodes qu’un huissier de justice peut utiliser pour signifier un acte de procédure?

Le ministère de la Justice du Québec autorise désormais les huissiers de justice à signifier des actes de procédure par moyens technologiques (par exemple le courriel), plutôt qu’en mains propres comme il est prévu en temps normal.

Cette mesure temporaire sera en vigueur jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence sanitaire actuelle. 

Afin de participer à l’effort collectif pour minimiser la propagation de la Covid-19, nous priorisons la signification par moyen technologique.  S’il y a un obstacle à ce type de signification, nos huissiers se déplaceront afin d’effectuer une signification traditionnelle.

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec nous par le biais des coordonnées de votre responsable au service à la clientèle

Pour tous les détails, nous vous référons à l’arrêté n° 4267 de la juge en chef du Québec et de la ministre de la Justice du 27 mars 2020 et au Communiqué du ministère de la Justice du 28 mars 2020, intitulé  Mesures temporaires visant à autoriser les notaires à clore un acte à distance et les huissiers à signifier des actes de procédure par des moyens technologiques.

Dernière mise à jour : 26 mai 2020

Quelles sont les mesures prises par Paquette afin de minimiser le risque de propagation de la COVID-19?

La santé et la sécurité de nos clients, de notre équipe et des personnes avec qui nous sommes appelés à entrer en contact sont au cœur de nos préoccupations.

Au-delà de l’implantation de la signification par moyens technologiques et le dépôt et l’émission non urgente de procédures par le biais du greffe numérique judiciaire du Québec, lorsque applicable, nous nous assurons que nos huissiers et les membres de l’équipe soient sensibilisés à des mesures d’hygiène et de sécurité mises en œuvre par l’organisation afin de minimiser les risques liés à la COVID-19 et leur fournissons l’équipement requis afin de permettre l’application des normes en vigueur lors de services en personne.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Pourquoi faire appel à Paquette pour l’émission d’une procédure à la Cour?

La justice québécoise entame un virage technologique important et nous sommes enthousiastes d’y participer. L’arrivée du Greffe numérique judiciaire du Québec s’intègre dans notre vision d’employer les technologies numériques afin d’enrichir notre offre de services.

Faites confiance aux experts

Depuis plusieurs mois, le quotidien de la pratique a vu des changements à une vitesse sans précédent. Chez Paquette, nous suivons de près l’évolution des méthodes de fonctionnement des greffes des diverses Cours et tribunaux du Québec. Nous nous assurons d’avoir des connaissances à jour qui nous permettent de vous offrir un service de cour rapide, efficace et à prix avantageux. Préparez votre procédure et laissez-nous nous occuper du reste!

Et profiter d’un service clé en main!

Une fois votre procédure rédigée et vos instructions transmises à Paquette, vous pouvez passer à autre chose et vous décharger des tâches liées à l’émission et la production des procédures. En faisant appel à notre équipe, vous profitez d’un service clé en main qui vous permettra à partir d’une seule demande de faire :

  • émettre ou déposer une procédure au greffe numérique ou physique, selon le besoin;
  • timbrer votre procédure avec une avance de fonds;
  • signifier votre procédure aux personnes désignées et
  • produire vos rapports de signification à la Cour.

Vous voulez suivre l’évolution de votre dossier? Utiliser la plateforme Paquette Web qui vous permettra non seulement de communiquer vos demandes, mais également de suivre l’évolution de votre dossier et consulter vos rapports.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Quels documents les huissiers peuvent-ils signifier par moyens technologiques?

Tout document, qu’il soit considéré urgent ou non.

Dernière mise à jour : 6 avril 2020

Concernant la signification par moyen technologique, à quelle adresse courriel un document peut-il être signifié?

Nous signifierons le document à l’adresse courriel qui nous sera fournie par notre client.

Nous vous référons à l’alinéa 1 de l’article 133 du Code de procédure civile qui prévoit que : « La notification par un moyen technologique se fait par la transmission du document à l’adresse que le destinataire indique être l’emplacement où il accepte de le recevoir ou à celle qui est connue publiquement comme étant l’adresse où il accepte de recevoir les documents qui lui sont destinés, dans la mesure où cette adresse est active au moment de l’envoi. »

Dernière mise à jour : 11 mai 2020

Une personne se représentant seule peut-elle recevoir signification par moyens technologiques?

Oui. L’arrêté n° 4267 prévoit que les citoyens se représentant seuls ne pourront refuser de recevoir la notification d’un document par moyen technologique que pour un motif raisonnable.

Dernière mise à jour : 6 avril 2020

Comment faire pour vous mandater afin de signifier un document par moyen technologique?

​Avec Paquette Web, vous pouvez nous transmettre les documents de façon numérique, en format PDF, par notre plateforme sécurisée afin que ceux-ci soient signifiés.

Votre mandat est urgent? Nous permettons dorénavant les demandes urgentes pendant nos heures d’ouverture par le biais de Paquette Web.  Si vous avez une demande urgente hors des heures d’ouverture, veuillez communiquer avec le service d’urgence au 514-284-1007.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Comment faire pour vous offrir un mandat traditionnel?

À compter du 26 mai 2020, nous vous invitons à recommencer à utiliser les méthodes habituelles de communication avec nous, soit :

  • Utiliser la plateforme Paquette Web qui vous permet à la fois de faire une demande, de joindre des documents au besoin en format PDF (30 Mo max.) et de consulter vos rapports et vos factures à un seul endroit. C’est simple et efficace.  Vous n’avez pas encore de compte?  Créez-en un rapidement.

  • Communiquer avec nous par le biais des coordonnées de votre responsable au service à la clientèle. Étant en reprise graduelle, il est possible que vous soyez communiqué à un autre responsable, mais soyez assuré que nous ferons un suivi personnalisé de votre demande.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Quels sont les frais applicables à la signification par un moyen technologique?

Nous facturons des frais de 23 $ par signification tel que le prévoit le Tarif d’honoraires des huissiers de justice. Des frais de gestion de 8 $ par dossier sont également applicables.

Dernière mise à jour : 6 avril 2020

Quand la preuve de signification par moyen technologique me sera-t-elle acheminée?

Vous recevrez un procès-verbal de signification par moyens technologiques dans un délai raisonnable suite à la signification par moyens technologiques. Ce procès-verbal sera conforme aux articles 119 et 134 alinéa 2 du Code de procédure civile

Dernière mise à jour : 6 avril 2020

Est-ce possible d’émettre une demande introductive d’instance au greffe?

Depuis le 15 juin 2020, il est dorénavant possible de « déposer en ligne certains actes de procédure dans les matières civile, jeunesse, criminelle et pénale » au greffe pour la Cour supérieure et la Cour du Québec. En tant que membre de la communauté juridique québécoise, nous sommes enthousiastes de participer à ce virage technologique qui permet notamment de réduire les déplacements dans les palais de justice.

Cette méthode n’est toutefois pas obligatoire et ne peut être utilisée pour certains dépôts de documents et pour les émissions et dépôts dans certaines instances judiciaires ou administratives.

Également, suite à des demandes effectuées par le biais du greffe numérique lors de la première semaine de sa mise en ligne, nous observons que, pour le moment, le délai d’émission d’une procédure semble être autour de 48 heures. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons le dépôt au greffe physique, dans les cas où il y a urgence.

Nous continuons donc de nous déplacer vers les greffes et vous invitons à continuer à nous transmettre vos procédures par le biais de notre plateforme sécurisée Paquette Web.

Avec notre plateforme sécurisée Paquette Web, vous profitez d’un service clé en main qui vous permettra à partir d’une seule demande de faire :

  • émettre ou déposer une procédure au greffe numérique ou physique, selon le besoin;
  • timbrer votre procédure avec une avance de fonds;
  • signifier votre procédure aux personnes désignées et
  • produire vos rapports de signification à la Cour.

Pour les dépôts et émission de procédures au greffe physique, la situation évolue rapidement et varie d’un district judiciaire à un autre.

Nous suivons la situation de près et vous aviserons s’il devait y avoir une problématique particulière concernant l’émission d’une procédure que vous nous avez transmise. Si vous avez des questions, communiquer avec nous par le biais des coordonnées de votre responsable à la clientèle.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Quel est le délai pour l’émission d’une procédure au greffe numérique judiciaire du Québec?

Le Greffe numérique judiciaire du Québec a été mis en ligne le 15 juin 2020. En date du 18 juin, nous ne pouvons vous communiquer une réponse officielle à ce sujet.

Toutefois, selon nos observations, en cette première semaine d’activité, les délais pour le traitement du dépôt de procédures semblent être d’environ 48 heures. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons de continuer de procéder au dépôt au greffe physique, dans les cas où il y a urgence et dans les cas qui sont exclus du dépôt au greffe numérique selon leurs conditions d’utilisation (ex. : une demande d’autorisation judiciaire ou d’autorisation d’exercer une action collective).

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Une procédure non urgente peut-elle être déposée au greffe?

Depuis le 15 juin 2020, il est dorénavant possible de « déposer en ligne certains actes de procédure dans les matières civile, jeunesse, criminelle et pénale » au greffe pour la Cour supérieure et la Cour du Québec. En tant que membre de la communauté juridique québécoise, nous sommes enthousiastes de participer à ce virage technologique qui permet notamment de réduire les déplacements dans les palais de justice.

Cette méthode n’est toutefois pas obligatoire et ne peut être utilisée pour certains dépôts de documents et pour les émissions et dépôts dans certaines instances judiciaires ou administratives.  Nous continuons donc de nous déplacer vers les greffes et vous invitons  à nous transmettre vos procédures par le biais de notre plateforme sécurisée Paquette Web.

Avec notre plateforme sécurisée Paquette Web, vous profitez d’un service clé en main qui vous permettra à partir d’une seule demande de faire :

  • émettre ou déposer une procédure au greffe numérique ou physique, selon le besoin;
  • timbrer votre procédure avec une avance de fonds;
  • signifier votre procédure aux personnes désignées et
  • produire vos rapports de signification à la Cour.

Pour les dépôts et émission de procédures au greffe physique, la situation évolue rapidement et varie d’un district judiciaire à un autre.

Nous suivons la situation de près et vous aviserons s’il devait y avoir une problématique particulière concernant l’émission d’une procédure que vous nous avez transmise. Si vous avez des questions, communiquer avec nous par le biais des coordonnées de votre responsable à la clientèle.

Dernière mise à jour : 18 juin 2020

Quelles sont les procédures définies comme urgentes par les différentes instances?

Les activités judiciaires urgentes sont mentionnées ici.

Nous vous référons également aux différents communiqués émis par les tribunaux puisque la notion d’urgence peut varier d’un tribunal à l’autre et d’un district à l’autre.

Par exemple, la Cour supérieure (district de Montréal) a émis un communiqué le 26 juin dans lequel elle remplace la liste des matières urgentes ou prioritaires en matière civile et familiale par la suivante :

  • « Demande d’injonction
  • Saisie avant jugement
  • Ordonnance de mainlevée de saisie, annulation de saisie avant jugement ou contestation d’expulsion;
  • Délivrer les avis d’exécution (expulsion) à la suite d’une décision du tribunal, excluant l’effet de tout jugement suspendu par l’arrêté ministériel numéro 2020-005 concernant les logements et immeubles résidentiels;
  • Ordonnance de sauvegarde;
  • Toute demande considérée urgente ou prioritaire par la Chambre commerciale dans les affaires qui sont instruites devant elle, que ce soit dans le cadre d’une réorganisation, un arrangement, une proposition, une faillite ou autrement;
  • Demande pour garde d’enfants, pension alimentaire et autres demandes concernant les enfants;
  • Demande pour pensions alimentaires pour des époux(ses);
  • Demande de divorce et de séparation de corps comprenant les demandes concernant la garde, droits d’accès, les pensions alimentaires et autres questions concernant les parties ou leurs biens;
  • Demande pour autorisation de soins (art. 16 C.c.Q.);
  • Habeas corpus;
  • Demande en matière de droits ou d’intégrité de la personne (ex. : art. 2167.1 C.c.Q);
  • Demande prioritaire en vertu de la loi
  • Toute autre matière jugée urgente ou prioritaire par le juge en chef ou le juge qu’il désigne nécessitant l’intervention immédiate du tribunal afin d’assurer la protection de personnes, de droits et de biens. »

Dernière mise à jour : 29 juin 2020

Qu’en est-il des délais de prescription et de procédure civile ?

L’arrêté n° 2020-4251 de la juge en chef du Québec et de la ministre de la Justice du 15 mars 2020 prévoit que les délais de prescription extinctive et de déchéance en matière civile sont suspendus jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de la déclaration d’état d’urgence. De même, les délais de procédure civile sont suspendus durant cette période, à l’exception des affaires jugées urgentes par les tribunaux.

Pour accéder aux décrets de renouvellement de l’état d’urgence sanitaire, nous vous référons à la section des Mesures prises par décrets et arrêtés ministériels dans la page dédiée à la situation du coronavirus (COVID-19) au Québec.

Au niveau de la Régie du logement, il est à noter que, selon leur site, en date du 9 mai 2020, « les délais pour introduire un recours devant la Régie du logement ne sont pas suspendus, notamment en matière de reprise de logement, de demande de rétractation et de demande de révision.»

Au niveau des délais de procédure civile, il est à noter qu’aux greffes du palais de justice ce Montréal, une note d’information*, est affichée au sujet de la suspension des délais en procédure civile. Cette note d’information inclut un tableau d’application de la suspension des délais qui prévoit notamment ce qui suit :

  • Types de délais suspendus :
    • « Délai de procédure civile, sauf si affaire jugée urgente par le tribunal »
    • « Délai qui relève de l’indépendance judiciaire si concerne un délai de procédure civile » (exemple : Moyen d’irrecevabilité et correction de la situation – art. 168)
  • Types de délais qui ne sont pas suspendus :
    • « Délai préalable ou de présentation »
    • « Imposition d’une obligation plutôt qu’un délai » (exemple : Notification d’un avis de jugement)
    • « N’est pas un délai procédural ou représente une durée » (exemple : Durée de l’injonction provisoire)

*Justice Québec, Direction du soutien juridique aux services de justice, Note d’information : Suspension des délais de procédure civile, en date du 26 mai 2020, consultée aux greffes du palais de justice de Montréal le 10 juin 2020.

Dernière mise à jour : 12 juin 2020

Quand pourra-t-on recommencer à procéder aux expulsions de locataires?

Conformément à l’Arrêté numéro 2020-050 de la ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux en date du 7 juillet 2020,  nous pouvons dorénavant planifier les évictions relatives à tout jugement ou toute décision de la Régie du logement rendu avant le 1er mars 2020.

Pour les décisions ou les jugements rendus depuis le 1er mars 2020, « [l]es effets de toute décision de la Régie du logement ou de tout jugement d’un tribunal qui autorise la reprise d’un logement ou l’éviction du locataire d’un logement sont suspendus, de même que les effets de toute décision ou de tout jugement qui ordonne l’expulsion du locataire ou de l’occupant d’un logement, sauf si le logement a été reloué par le locateur avant le 17 mars 2020 et que cette suspension empêcherait le nouveau locataire de prendre possession des lieux», conformément à l’Arrêté 2020-005, du 17 mars 2020.

Nous vous invitons donc à communiquer avec nous, dès que possible,  si vous désirez planifier l’exécution d’un jugement de la Régie du logement en votre faveur.

Dernière mise à jour : 7 juillet 2020

Est-il possible de procéder à l’exécution d’un jugement ou à la saisie avant jugement?

Nous pouvons accepter des mandats d’exécution, tout en respectant les mesures de suspension des délais lorsqu’applicables.  Communiquez-nous des instructions d’exécution et nous évaluerons la méthode la plus adaptée afin de respecter les normes d’hygiène actuellement applicables et les différentes directives, lignes directrices et restrictions en vigueur.

Pour la Régie du logement, il est à noter que conformément à l’Arrêté numéro 2020-050 de la ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux en date du 7 juillet 2020,  nous pouvons dorénavant planifier les évictions relatives à tout jugement ou toute décision de la Régie du logement rendu avant le 1er mars 2020.

Pour les décisions ou les jugements rendus depuis le 1er mars 2020, « [l]es effets de toute décision de la Régie du logement ou de tout jugement d’un tribunal qui autorise la reprise d’un logement ou l’éviction du locataire d’un logement sont suspendus, de même que les effets de toute décision ou de tout jugement qui ordonne l’expulsion du locataire ou de l’occupant d’un logement, sauf si le logement a été reloué par le locateur avant le 17 mars 2020 et que cette suspension empêcherait le nouveau locataire de prendre possession des lieux», conformément à l’Arrêté 2020-005, du 17 mars 2020.

Veuillez noter qu’il est possible que nous soyons dans l’impossibilité d’exécuter le mandat si celui-ci ne respecte pas les règles actuellement en vigueur.

Dernière mise à jour : 7 juillet 2020

Pour toute question supplémentaire, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous par le biais des coordonnées de votre responsable au service à la clientèle ou, en cas d’urgence, hors des heures d’ouverture, au 514-284-1007.

Vous n’avez pas encore de compte avec nous? Communiquer avec nous à info@paquette.ca ou pendant les heures d’ouverture au 514-284-1007 poste 0.